There’s so much truth in that sentence. Don’t know what happened, suddenly it just hit me not so long ago that there are a few meanings I could take from that one single line. So, here they are:

1. Expressing dissent in a more polite and/or “smirk-face” kind of way.

So you probably know how this works. It could mean “Excuse me, I’d like to speak out a different opinion.” or… the pic below.

ohreally

Which could be really annoying. Smart-asses and the like. Standard stuff. Let’s move on.

2. The want (maybe need?) to be noticed.

It’s now a trend to be unique and weird and out of the ordinary. Everyone’s unique. There’s some sense in that, but not many people really stand out from the crowd. Probably because people tend to befriend others similar with them, so they may stand out as a crowd, but not individually. And these people, at least half of the time, are the ones with the biggest thirst for attention.

Do you watch ANTM? That’s why group photos are difficult. Take the pic below for example. I don’t know about you, but my eyes keep wandering to the top right pic. Just because it’s the only one in black and white. If you do, then it’s that much easier to link attention and being different.

3. “Seeking” consent to be different.

The sentence would mean more like “Could you please, please, PLEEEASSEE just let me be who I am?”

Were you able to see and read the text on the featured image? In case I’m using a theme that makes you unable to do so, here’s the pic (again).

i-dont-always-beg-but-wehn-i-do-i-beg-to-differ

I know it’s a meme. One that curves my lips upwards, at that. And also cringe a little when I see the typo. *sighs* But when I think about it, I see some truth.

It’s rare, but try picturing a timid guy saying “I beg to differ” in a group discussion, where his opinion is the only one that’s, well, different. It’s hard to do sometimes, straying away from the crowd. Finding the fine line between having time alone and ending up alone is the main problem. That’s why diversity and tolerance in a group is important. It makes things interesting, you learn to respect each other, and many more things I’m sure you can think of yourself.

